Celebrating A New Beginning


• On the other side of the law: Wrongly accused UTEP student headed to law school
• Doctoral degree approved: International business to foster economy
• Hometown Hero: ‘Shana’ symbol of war and freedom
• Honors Convocation Awards Top Achievers
Horizons Archives


UTEP faculty honored as tops in state

Photo by Laura Trejo

Professors Nancy Crook Marcus, left, and Kathleen Staudt.

Each year, the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation recognizes 15 professors from Texas public and private colleges and universities for superior teaching at the college level.

This year, UTEP faculty Nancy Crook Marcus and Kathleen Staudt were named Piper Professors. Each received a $5,000 award and were recognized at UTEP’s 2003 Honors Convocation.

Marcus, associate professor of mathematical sciences and assistant dean of the College of Science, has been a faculty member since 1976.

Marcus has dedicated herself to ensuring that entering freshmen master the math skills that are essential for academic success. In 1996, she and two colleagues used start-up funds from the National Science Foundation, NASA, and UTEP to create ‘SOS Math’ — a pre-college and college mathematics tutorial Web site. Today that Web site averages 18 million hits annually.

‘SOS Math’ is only one example of Marcus’ commitment to providing students with innovative tools for learning. She has been a leader in calculus reform, determined to demonstrate that mathematics is not out of the reach of many students. Colleagues and students describe her as an outstanding teacher with a limitless ability to inspire and encourage.

Marcus received the Chancellor’s Council Outstanding Teaching Award in 1998.